Introduction of Provincial Assembly of Sindh

The Constitution of 1973 is federal in nature, therefore, a constitutional division of power between the central government and the provincial governments. The Provincial Assembly of Sindh has provincial autonomy and consists of a unicameral legislature, which means consisting of a single chamber, as a legislative assembly. Members are elected for a term of five years, unless the assembly is dissolved sooner.

General Election were held on May 11, 2013 and first session of the Provincial Assembly of Sindh was held on 29th May, 2013. Election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker for the Provincial Assembly of Sindh was held on May 30, 2013. Mr. Agha Siraj Khan Durrani was elected as the Speaker of the Provincial Assembly of Sindh and Syeda Shahla Raza was elected as Deputy Speaker of the Provincial Assembly of Sindh (2nd time).

On 30th May, 2013 Syed Qaim Ali Shah was elected as Chief Minister Sindh (3rd time). Consequent upon the acceptance of the resignation of Syed Qaim Ali Shah from the office of Chief Minister Sindh on 27th July, 2016.

On 29th July, 2016 Syed Murad Ali Shah elected and took oath as Chief Minister Sindh.

On request of (44) Members of the Provincial Assembly of Sindh belonging to Opposition Benches (MQM) to declare Khawaja Izhar ul Hassan, MPA as Leader of Opposition. The Honourable Speaker, Provincial Assembly of Sindh, in accordance of the provisions of sub-rule (3) of Rule 25 of Rules of Procedure of the Provincial Assembly of Sindh, has been pleased to declare KHAWAJA IZHAR UL HASSAN, MPA as Leader of Opposition with effect from 29th April, 2015.

Provincial Assembly of Sindh

# Description Quantity
1 General Seats 130
2 Seats reserved for Women 29
3 Seats reserved for Minority 109
Total Seats 168

Party Wise Distribution

Party Seats
1.Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarian  (96 Seats)
General Seats 75
Seats reserved for Women 16
Seats reserved for Minority 5
2.Muthida Quomi Movement Pakistan  (50 Seats)
General Seats 38
Seats reserved for Women 9
Seats reserved for Minority 3
3. Pakistan Muslim League (F)  (09  Seats)
General Seats 6
Seats reserved for Women 2
Seats reserved for Minority 1
4. Pakistan Muslim League (N)/NPP  (08 Seats )
General Seats 7
Seats reserved for Women 1
5. Pakistan Tehreek-e- Insaf   (04 Seats)
General Seats 3
Seat reserved for Women 1
6. Independent (01 Seat)
General Seats   01
5. PTI
6. Ind.